Other HELP | Smoke coming out from case after plugged in

Wohme

Efficiency Noob
Original poster
Apr 30, 2024
I'm a newbie, this is my second small build that I was planning for a backup. When I first plugged the cable in, I smelled and saw smoke coming out (not sure from exactly which connector) so I unplugged immediately.

Setup:
MBD: ASRock J4205-ITX
RAM: Kingston 4 GB 1600 MHz KVR16LS11/4
PSU: Some DC-DC board (300W) named Debroglie with a 12V@18A Delta adapter
HDD: 1 WD Purple 4 TB

Important things to mention:
  • The MBD is screwed to all of the standoffs.
  • I've put the grounding ring between the MBD and its standoff screw.
  • I've installed the DC-DC board also on the case (Fractal Core 500) with standoffs.
  • I noticed that I've put the 2-pin reset front panel connector 1-pin wrong to the right instead of the original place.
  • When I plugged in only my adapter + DC-DC board with the ATX connector there was no smoke or any other issue.
Here it is how it looked before assembling completely.

What might've caused this issue? I'm freaking, because I'm not sure if I fried my components. Please help! :(

confusis

John Morrison. Founder and Team Leader of SFF.N
SFF Network
SFF Workshop
SFFn Staff
Jun 19, 2015
sff.network
Hmm - if you take each component out and give em the sniff/eyeball test, can you isolate which one let the smoke out?

SFFMunkee

King of Cable Management
Jul 7, 2021
My first instinct would be to check out all the DC power connections.

Have a look for surface mount components on the DC adapter board and see if any look burned or cracked.
If you're somewhat lucky, there's a polarity protection diode there that's probably popped, and will need to be removed or replaced before it'll work again. Of course, you'll also need to double/triple check the polarity it's expecting.